Indian History important year for Afcat Exam (1) 2022

Important events of Indian history from the year 1851 to 2013 for defense and afcat exam.

1851: The first telegraph line in India is operational between Calcutta and Diamond Harbour.

1853: The first train in India runs from Bombay to Thane.

1857: The First War of Indian Independence is also called the Sepoy Mutiny by the British.

1881: The first complete population census was conducted on a uniform basis throughout India.

1885: Formation of Indian National Congress by AO Hume, Dadabhai Naoroji, Dinshaw Wacha, WC Banerjee and others.

1905: Partition of Bengal by Lord Curzon. Started Swadeshi movement.

The 1909 Indian Councils Act, popularly known as the Minto Morley Reforms, allowed limited increase in participation of Indians in governance.

1911: Visit of King George V to India, shifting the capital from Calcutta to Delhi. Jana Gana Mana was first sung at the Calcutta session of INC. Launch of the first air mail in India and the world from Bumrauli to Allahabad.

1919: Government of India Act, 1919 introduced diarchy, Rowlatt Act, Jallianwala Bagh tragedy.

1920: Khilafat movement, beginning of non-cooperation movement.

1922: Chauri-Chaura outrage in UP, non-cooperation movement postponed

1928: Simon Commission visit to India, death of Lala Lajpat Rai

1929: Resolution of complete independence at the Lahore session of the Indian National Congress.

1930: Dandi March, launch of Civil Disobedience Movement.

1931: Gandhi Irwin Pact, hanging of Bhagat Singh, Sukhdev and Rajguru.

1935: Government of India Act.

1942: Quit India Movement, formation of Azad Hind Fauj.

1943: Cripps Commission visit to India.

1946: British Cabinet Mission visited India.

1947: Independence and partition of India.

1948: assassination of Mahatma Gandhi, first Pak attack

1950: India became a republic

1951: First Five Year Plan and First Asian Games in Delhi

1952: first general election

1954: Panchsheel signed by India and China

1956: Reorganization of Indian states on linguistic basis, India's first nuclear reactor, Apsara, achieved significance.

1957: Introduction of decimal system in currency

1959: The first television service in India begins in New Delhi.

1961: Liberation of Goa from Portuguese

1962: Chinese invasion

1964: Death of Jawaharlal Nehru

1965: India-Pakistan war

1966: Death of Lal Bahadur Shastri

1969: Split in the Indian National Congress and nationalization of 14 banks. India's first nuclear power station Tarapur begins commercial operations.

1971: India-Pakistan war

1972: Shimla Agreement signed between India and Pakistan

1974: First nuclear test conducted in Pokhran (Rajasthan) (18 May) codenamed Smiling Buddha.

1975: The first Indian satellite Aryabhata is launched, imposing emergency in the country.

1977: Congress lost central power for the first time

1980: Congress returns to power, nationalization of six more banks.

1982: Color television arrives in India. IX Asian Games held in Delhi.

1984: Death of Indira Gandhi.

1991: Death of Rajiv Gandhi. Beginning of economic liberalization in India.

1992: Babri Masjid demolition.

1995: Internet comes to India.

1998: India's second nuclear test codenamed Operation Shakti.

1999: Kargil invasion by Pakistani troops.

2000: India's population reaches the 1 billion mark.

2001: Gujarat earthquake (January), attack on Indian Parliament 

2002: Godhra incident

2004: Indian Ocean tsunami.

2008: Launch of India's first lunar probe, Chandrayaan-1.

2013: Mars Orbiter Mission launched.

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url