List of Prime Ministers of India 1947 -2024 and their details

After 200 years, when India got independence from the British in 1947, for the first time someone was made the Prime Minister of the country. Before this, there used to be different kings in the country, who used to rule as per their own, after independence, a Prime Minister was selected to unify the country and have a single power in the country. At this time the country got its first Prime Minister. In the Constitution of India, the Prime Minister has been described as the head of the government, he is called the chief advisor to the President, and he is also the leader of the majority party in the Lok Sabha. The Prime Minister runs the functioning of the Government of India smoothly.

The Prime Minister is the head of the Cabinet in Parliament. In the cabinet committee formed by the Prime Minister, he can make changes whenever he wants, he can keep anyone he wants, remove anyone he wants and can also change their posts. With the resignation and death of the Prime Minister, his entire cabinet also disintegrates. The Union Cabinet is appointed by the President and is headed by the Prime Minister who looks after executive matters. The Prime Minister always has to maintain majority in the Lok Sabha, if he does not get the majority set by the President, his government will fall.

The Prime Minister has to take membership of the Parliament within 6 months of assuming office. According to the rules made by the Parliament, they have to work with other central ministers. Like all other parliamentary democracies, the work of the Prime Minister is also done according to the procedure of the Constitution, and the Union Cabinet and the Legislature also have to follow the rules of law. The Prime Minister of India is the head of the government, and he is responsible for the executive power.

Prime Minister Role and Responsibility –

The Prime Minister runs the functioning and authority of the Indian Government smoothly. The Prime Minister is called to the Parliament by the President of the country, he is called as the leader of the majority party, where he has to form his cabinet and explain the work to everyone. Here the Prime Minister first puts forward the names of some members of the Cabinet before the President for practice. The Prime Minister and the President together decide the names of the cabinet ministers, and the work given to the ministers is also done with the help and advice of the Prime Minister. The work of coordination rests with the Cabinet Secretariat, whereas the work of the government is spread across many ministries. The Prime Minister also maintains some departments where he keeps people who are not involved in the functioning of his cabinet, but are kept to assist him. There are some ministries which are not given to any cabinet but have to be looked after by the Prime Minister himself. The Prime Minister mainly looks after these tasks –

  • constituting a cabinet committee
  • Ministry of Public Grievances and Pensions
  • Ministry of Planning
  • Department of Nuclear Safety
  • Department of Space
  • The presence of the Prime Minister is mandatory in all the major functions of the country. The Prime Minister has to participate in major meetings and international meetings.

Eligibility to become the Prime Minister of India –

  • Be a citizen of India
  • Should be a member of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, if after becoming the Prime Minister he is not a member of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, then it is mandatory for him to acquire their membership within 6 months.
  • If you are a member of Lok Sabha then your age should be 25 years and above and if you are a member of Rajya Sabha then your age should be 30 years and above.
  • Any private work cannot be linked with government work.
  • If anyone achieves the post of Prime Minister, he will have to resign from his post in any private or government sector.

List of Prime Ministers of India from 1947 till now and their details

Prime Minister of India List

  • Shri Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru (15 August 1947-27 May 1964) Bharati National Congress
  • Shri Gulzari Lal Nanda (27 May 1964 - 9 June 1964) Bharati National Congress 
  • Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri (9 June 1964 – 11 January 1966) Bharati National Congress
  • Shri Gulzari Lal Nanda (11 January 1966 – 24 January 1966) Bharati National Congress
  • Smt. Indira Gandhi (24 January 1966 – 24 March 1977) Bharati National Congress
  • Shri Morarji Desai (24 March 1977- 28 July 1979) Janata Party
  • Mr. Charan Singh (28 July 1979 – 14 January 1980) Janata Party
  • Smt. Indira Gandhi (14 January 1980 – 31 October 1984) Bharati National Congress
  • Shri Rajeev Gandhi (31 October 1984 – 2 December 1989) Bharati National Congress
  • Shri V.P.Singh (2 December 1989 – 10 November 1990) Janata Dal
  • Shri Chandra Shekhar (10 November 1990-21 June 1991) Samajwadi Janata Party
  • Shri V.P. Narasimha Rao (21 June 1991 – 16 May 1996) Bharati National Congress
  • Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee (16 May 1996- 1 June 1996) Bharatiya Janata Party
  • Shri H.D.Deve Goda (1 June 1996- 21 April 1997) Janata Dal
  • Mr. Inder Kumar Gujral (21 April 1997- 19 March 1998) Janata Dal
  • Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee (19 March 1998 -22 May 2004) Bharatiya Janata Party
  • Dr. Man Mohan Singh (22 May 2004 to 16 May 2014) Bharati National Congress
  • Shri Narendra Modi From 16 May 2014 till nowBharatiya Janata Party
Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url